Blue Stars for January’s Rainbow Scrap Challenge

I’ve started to notice a pattern in my work in that a lot of my projects are stars in one form or another.  I make many other types of designs, but stars are always a favorite of mine, so many possibilities!

I’ve also been following So Scrappy’s blog for a while and enjoyed the blocks and quilts everyone made in the Rainbow Scrap Challenge, so when I saw that the January block was a star, I figured I’d give it a try this year.  My decision was also guided by the fact that the color for January is blue and I have a lot of blue fabric!

Kona blue and white fabrics-1

I decided to use some of my Kona solids for this project as I have something in every color (and I’m always willing to buy a little more!).  I have a lot more blue Kona, but the accent color this month is purple, so I left out any blues that leaned toward green and will probably gather some purple Konas to add to other blue blocks as I make them.  I’m going to use Kona Snow for the background as I have about 4 yards of it and I want to use one consistent fabric for the background.

I cut out a lot of squares last weekend, but it was back to work Monday so the sewing had to wait a few days.  I took off Friday from work and my husband and I went to see Star Wars (and loved it!) and when we got home, I sewed the sections of my first block.  It was pretty easy to put together but I didn’t focus on one of my stitching lines and had to rip out one seam. That’s not so bad though considering the first block is usually more challenging and as I make more, hopefully I’ll get better at it!

Blue star block in progress-1

So, this morning I woke up early, made some coffee and sewed the block together.  I really like the way it came out; now to find time to make the others to complete the column of blue stars as the challenge pattern shows.

Scrappy blue white star-1

I’m linking up with the Rainbow Scrap Challenge – stop by and take a look at everyone’s blue blocks.

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Blue Stars for January’s Rainbow Scrap Challenge

  1. Edith says:

    So pretty, love the solids and Kona Snow, so crisp.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Angela says:

    Your block is beautiful! I am sure the next blocks will come together even more easily .

    Like

  3. Cathy says:

    You are off to a good start! I like star blocks too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Maureen says:

    Isn’t Twinkle Star a lovely block, so crisp and fresh with the white.

    Like

  5. That is very pretty in the solids! What a good idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Karen says:

    Very pretty stars. I love the solid blue colors.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. gayle says:

    Lovely star! (I’m a big fan of stars, too…)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. catkiz says:

    Your block turned out beautifully! I can’t tell you how many times I made a mistake and had to re-do the first one. After that it was easy. Glad you’re a Kona fan too!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lovely blocks! Beautiful blues.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Magpie Sue says:

    Everyone has so many blues! Mine are all in prints though. You’re going to have a wonderfully graphic quilt at the end.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sheila says:

    Your star is beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

