Happy New Year!

I can’t believe it’s January already!  Hope everyone enjoyed the holidays.  They sure did go by fast!  I tend to work a lot between Halloween and New Year as my company’s fiscal year ends December 31st and this year was no exception.  I was able to take a few vacation days after Christmas, but tomorrow I return to the real world.

It’s going to be hard going back to the work routine.  This was one of those stay at home and just relax kind of vacations.  My husband was off too and we drove to the beach a few times (cold but still beautiful) and went to a local arboretum to see their Christmas displays.

Planting Fields Christmas Tree 2015-1

We went out on New Years’ Eve for the first time in a few years and had a great time.  We saw Jimmy Buffett at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

Jimmy Buffett Dec 31, 2015-1

It was a bit strange seeing them in winter as we usually see them in the summer out at Jones Beach.  It was a great show as usual – now I’m counting the days til the warm weather is back!

While I haven’t finished anything lately, I have been sewing a lot –  more on that in future posts.  As today is my last day off, I decided to take a little time and finish this year’s Christmas ornaments.  Better late than never!  And I wanted to just relax and do some hand sewing.

Red NY Rangers ornament - EPP-1

Blue NY Rangers ornament - EPP-1

I made these from NY Rangers fabric that I got at Joann’s and some red and blue Kona solids I had.  They are simple pentagon shapes stitched together using the English paper piecing method and stuffed.  There’s a great how-to in Diane Gilleland’s book All Points Patchwork.  I will probably make more of these.  They were fun to make and didn’t take long.

I’m linking up with Kathy at Slow Sunday Stitching.  Stop over and see what everyone else is up to.

Have a great week!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year!

  1. daneesey says:

    What a cute idea for an ornament! I may have to give this a try — how big was your pentagon? The Christmas display in the arboretum was very lovely! Happy New Year to you and yours (and thank you for stopping by my blog and your lovely comment)! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

