A Road Trip to the New England Quilt Museum

Although I didn’t get a lot of actual sewing done this week, much of my time has involved quilt related things.

My husband and I took a road trip to Boston and wonderful guy that he is, agreed to a side trip to Lowell, Massachusetts, just north of Boston where the New England Quilt Museum is located.   It was easy to spot the museum from a few blocks away.



I love the exterior of the building.

The current exhibit is of Caryl Bryer Fallert’s quilts. To say her work is amazing is an understatement.  I don’t remember exactly how or when I became aware of her work but I have liked her quilts for years now. I think she hand dyed much of the fabric in her quilts. The colors are so vivid and the quilting is  just beautiful.

I didnt take many photos as I wanted so that I could really look and appreciate the quilts. Sometimes when I’m taking pictures I find that I’m saving it for future use (which is fine) at the expense of enjoying the present moment. And there are beautiful images on Caryl’s website of her quilts.

I couldn’t resist taking a photo of this one.  Up close and personal, it’s just a joy to look at. 

IMG_9016

I did a little sewing in the car on the way to and from Boston (thanks to my husband who loves to drive so I get to sew).   I finished sewing the ten stars on my la passacaglia rosette.

I spent a lot of time when we got back home pulling fabrics and basting pieces for my next rosette so hopefully I’ll have photos of another finish soon.

I should also mention that this is my first attempt to do a blog post from my phone. Hope it worked!

I’m linking up with Kathy’s slow stitching Sunday. Everyone does such beautiful work – make some coffee or get some wine and have a look. Enjoy your day!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Road Trip to the New England Quilt Museum

  1. vivjm says:

    I am with you on the taking photos thing. When I went to the Festival of Quilts this year, I decided not to take photos as I think it can stop you from actually looking closely and you miss so much. I do think I appreciated the quilts much more this time.
    I’ve never tried sewing in the car before – doesn’t it make you feel sick?!
    As always, loving your Christmas La Passcaglia 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maureen says:

      I wish the shows would produce a high quality cd of all the quilts especially if it also contained the maker’s information. I’d buy one for each show! The New England quilt museum actually did sell a cd with all the quilts and info for $10 which I thought was ok. I haven’t had time to look at it yet but expect it will be worth the $10. As for stitching on the car, it’s funny, reading for too long does make me carsick and I’m prone to that anyway but sewing doesn’t make it worse. I can’t say it prevents it either but sometimes it helps keep my mind off my queasy stomach!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. It worked and your rosette is gorgeous !

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kathy says:

    Success on posting from your phone! The last two years that I attended Quilt Week in Paducah, I took pictures … but to be honest, it’s often difficult to get a good, full shot of a quilt (due to space constraints) and impossible to get a nice close-up (due to the distance between the quilts and viewers). Next year, I’m going to just give up on trying to get photos and am going to enjoy them in the present. Your hubby sounds like mine … mine enjoys the driving, which allows me to be able to stitch – and he’s agreeable to side trips for something quilty. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maureen says:

      Hi Kathy – I have to admit I was able to do the writing and uploading of photos to the blog post via my phone but the links didn’t work properly so I had to use my computer to edit it. But I’m determined to figure it out (although I may have to ask one of my sons for technical help)! And yes isn’t it nice to have a husband who appreciates our passion for all things quilt related. Of course I make him shirts every now and then so he does benefit from my love of sewing!

      Like

  4. knitnkwilt says:

    One thing I have found is that after the initial enthusiasm for ashow, I don’t go backto my photos much. So I too have started to take fewer and do more “in the moment” enjoying. Loved my one visit to theNE Museum.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gina says:

    THat’s an amazing exterior. I love Caryl’s work too. I bet the exhibition was amazing

    Liked by 1 person

  6. How fun that you got to go to the New England Quilt Museum. I’d love to go out there if I ever make it up to New England. Your rosette looks fabulous – I love that you’re making it Christmas-themed.

    Like

    • Maureen says:

      Thanks Jill! I’m glad you like the Christmas theme. I love working with holiday fabrics. And yes, if you can get to the New England quilt museum I highly recommend it. I was glad I made the trip.

      Like

  7. thediyaddict says:

    I love the Christmas themed La Pass!!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

