Hand Piecing Purple Hexagons

I finally finished another rosette of hexagons for my Road 66 quilt from Di Ford’s book, Primarily Quilts.  I haven’t been doing much on that project lately, and I spotted the almost-finished block up on the wall yesterday.  I realized that I only needed to attach two more hexagons, which really wouldn’t take long, so I sewed the last hexagons to complete a purple rosette.

Purple Hexagons

Purple Hexagons

I also decided to do some machine piecing.  I haven’t been doing much machine sewing lately, and I miss it.   We went to the beach for a few hours this morning, and when we got home, I made a few diamond in a square blocks.

Green Blocks

Green Blocks

These go together quickly once I get started.  I always have to be careful when I do machine paper piecing after a while away from it as I have a tendency to do thinks backwards at first.  Luckily, these went together with no need for the seam ripper!

Hope you found some time to sew this weekend.  I’m linking up with Slow Sunday Stitching.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hand Piecing Purple Hexagons

  1. Carla says:

    I have the same problem with paper piecing. Although with practice it gets easier. I don’t like doing anything to complicated though takes the fun out of it for me.

    Like

  2. vivjm says:

    Love your purple rosette! The green diamonds are nice too – will you make a whole quilt of them or is it for a smaller project?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kathy says:

    Every single time I sit down to foundation piece, I have to stop and think … and then rethink. Even then, sometimes I get the first two pieces sewn wrong. But then I get in a groove and it’s all good. Your blocks are fabulous!

    Like

  4. Deb says:

    I have the same problem with paper piecing! Glad to know it is not just me. Your purple rosette is lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maureen says:

      Thanks Deb – glad you like the purple rosette. I think we’ll all master the paper piecing. I know for me, often I just need to concentrate on what I’m doing. It’s not always easy though!

      Like

Leave a Reply

