A Little Stitching on Father’s Day

I only managed a little stitching this week.  A nasty cold has been going around my office and Thursday was my turn to get it.  It really knocked me for a loop, so I’ve been taking it easy much of the weekend.  The weather hasn’t been great, so I didn’t mind all that much.  It’s been a while since I sat in the recliner and watched movies all day.  Yesterday some favorites, Ghostbusters and Overboard, were on TV and since I’ve seen them both many times, it didn’t matter when I drifted off to sleep for a bit! Before I caught the cold, I decided to get back to making hexagon rosettes for my Route 66 quilt.  I’ve only made three full rosettes so far and need to get sewing if I want to finish it any time soon.  I’m hand piecing them and as much as I love EPP, hand piecing is a nice break once in a while.  I still have to decide what fabric will be on the next ring of hexagons, but this was a good start for what turned out to be a hectic week.

Purple Hexie Flower

Purple Hexie Flower

I also hosted a Father’s Day brunch for family at my house this morning.  We had a really nice visit and the bonus was that I had a few hours after they left to stitch together two more EPP stars.  (They had been already glue basted so it went pretty quickly.)

Rust & Yellow Stars

Rust & Yellow Stars

It has been either raining or threatening to rain most of the day, but a few hours ago the sun broke through for a while and my husband and I saw a rainbow, which always makes us happy.

Rainbow

Rainbow

Hopefully I’ll get a little more sewing done tonight while watching TV.  I’m linking up with Slow Sunday Stitching and the Monday morning star count over at Life Under Quilts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Little Stitching on Father’s Day

  1. Kathy says:

    I just love the purple on your little hexie flower … I’m not normally a fan of purple, but I do love that purple fabric. And of course I love your two-tone stars. I hope you’re over that cold (or at least the worst of it) now.

    Like

  2. Beautiful purple flower! And a rainbow… lucky you!
    Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  3. Pamela says:

    That purple fabric looks like a real flower petal! Beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

