Springtime Flowers, Swans and More Stars

I’m so happy that the nice weather is finally here.  It will probably be very hot and humid soon, so I’ve been trying to get up and out to enjoy the late Spring.  There are so many beautiful flowers blooming this time of year; it’s a real pleasure to be outside!

My rhododendrons peaked over the weekend and are fading fast now, but I managed to take some photos while they were looking their best.

Rhododendren

Rhododendren

Rhododendren

Rhododendren

My husband and I are trying to fit regular exercise into our schedule, so we’ve been taking walks around a small lake area in our neighborhood.  It’s a nice mile walk, nothing too strenuous, but every mile counts, so we keep at it. It’s especially nice this time of year, because there are many swans, ducks and geese with their babies.  I was lucky to snap this photo; they move pretty quickly and are very, very protective of their babies.

Mom and baby geese

Mom and baby geese

These swans swimming were just beautiful.  I love walking around this lake, so peaceful and calming.

Swans swimming

Swans swimming

And, back to quilting – I’ve been making good progress on my EPP stars.  I keep some EPP with me now whenever I’m commuting, waiting for appointments, things like that.  I kind of miss reading, but my Nook is old and doesn’t hold a charge more than a half hour which is really frustrating and not worth carrying around anymore.  I still read at home when I can keep it charging, but EPP has definitely replaced it for when I’m commuting or waiting somewhere!  It’s a nice change, too.  I have been wanting to find a way to get more sewing time but with the hours I work, it’s not easy.  So, I sew on the go!

I finished adding the white diamonds to these two star blocks this week while commuting to work.  I have to say though, sometimes it’s really hard to stop sewing and get my head into work mode.  If I hit the lottery tomorrow (which isn’t likely since I haven’t bought a ticket in years), I’d be so happy to just work on my garden and quilting.  But for now, it’s off to work and stitching on the train is making me happy.

Orange & Gold star blocks

Orange & Gold star blocks

As I was editing the photos above to write this post, I came across this photo taken last week when I was laying out my star blocks.  I think they were about to start fighting over who gets the best spot on my blocks!  Sometimes annoying, but what is it about cats and quilts that we love so much?  Anyway, I just can’t get mad at them, they’re so cute.

Nugget & Mac on my star blocks

Nugget & Mac on my star blocks

Given how much of a hassle it can be to lay blocks out on my floor, I decided it would be a good idea to start playing around with a layout for these blocks in EQ7.  I think there is a Kona solid swatch file you can import but I didn’t have time for that yet.  Maybe this weekend.

Star quilt blocks in EQ7

Star quilt blocks in EQ7

Clearly, I need to work on my EQ7 skills.  I couldn’t quickly get the exact layout I wanted, and ran out of time to play on the computer, but you get the idea.  It’s great to see it start taking shape.  Now to decide whether I want to add another row to my quilt.  I’d kind of like to, but it means making more blocks and I know myself well enough to know that I’m starting to get the itch to work on something else (La Passacaglia for one!) so I’d better get moving on this, make a decision and finish it already!

I’m so glad Jessica over at Life Under Quilts has started her weekly link up star count again.  Keeps me motivated – thanks Jessica!  I think I’m up to 39 now but will do some more over the weekend and have an update soon.

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Springtime Flowers, Swans and More Stars

  1. Kathy says:

    I love your stars! I love the portability of EPP, too … I took my EPP with me to the swim meet last night. Unfortunately by the time we had a big break between the grands’ events, it was already dark so I didn’t get in as much stitching as I would have liked. But every stitch counts. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pamela says:

    Great star blocks and the cat photo is adorable!

    Like

Leave a Reply

