Sewing Stars at the Beach

It’s so nice to finally be able to say that I’ve been sewing my paper pieced diamond stars at the beach.  I waited a long time for winter to end! But how did the end of May get here so fast? I see that I haven’t posted anything here in two months. That’s definitely below my goal! Oh well. I’m writing today so that’s good.

I love this time of year, so many gorgeous flowers are blooming.  My yellow rhododendron is blooming right now and looks great.

Yellow Rhododenrun

Yellow Rhododenrun

My ferns and hosts are waking up, and the ivy is moving fast (have to cut that back soon) for a lovely show of greens in that corner of the yard.

Fern & Hostas

Fern & Hostas

I have been doing a lot of English paper piecing.  I’m bringing it with me on the train almost every day now.  Those of you who follow my Instagram feed have seen some of these.  I like this red one I finished recently.  I want to make one or two more red stars to balance my colors.

Red Star Finished on the Train

Red Star Finished on the Train

I stitched a few stars together on the Saturday of Memorial Day weekend while we were watching an air show at the beach.  I really am making progress on this project that I would not be able to if it were not so portable.  Yay for EPP!

Purple Star at the Beach

Purple Star at the Beach

I decided to lay out the star/hexagon blocks I’ve finished so far.  Of course the minute I started, one of my cats came out of nowhere to lay down on them.  How do they always know when I’m laying out fabric or blocks?

Nugget Checks out the Star Quilt

Nugget Checks out the Star Quilt

After she left, I placed them in a rainbow kind of order, but I’m not sure if that’s how I’ll go with it.  I might mix them up for a more colorful, scrappy kind of look. We’ll see.  I still have some more to make, so time yet to decide.

Star Quilt Layout - May 31, 2015

Star Quilt Layout – May 31, 2015

This brings me to 37 stars.  Almost there.  I’m linking up to Slow Sunday Stitching over at Kathy’s Quilts.  Lots of beautiful stitching there.

Have a great week!

Maureen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Sewing Stars at the Beach

  1. Donna says:

    This is going to be a gorgeous quilt! I do like all the colors to be random. Can not wait to see it finished.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carla says:

    Oh I love these in the solid fabrics so crisp and bright!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So so beautiful! I love how you have them laid out right now! It must be motivating to see them so sparkly and wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maureen says:

      Thanks Kathy and yes you’re right it’s so nice to see them all laid out. Inspires me to keep making more so I can finish soon (and get on to my next project!)

      Like

  4. Kathy says:

    Nothing better than hand stitching on the beach! I’m wishing we were back on the beach. It’s only been 10 days, but I miss it!

    I love your stars … I can’t wait to see what you decide to do with them!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Maureen says:

      Thanks Kathy! I love sewing at the beach! I deal with a long commute into work every day so I can live 20 minutes from the beach. But it’s worth it!

      Like

  5. Deb says:

    Those are lovely!

    Like

  6. Cathi says:

    Quilt blocks on the floor are a total cat magnet! Your stars are lovely!

    Like

  7. Maureen says:

    Thanks Cathi and yes, it’s like magic – I lay out blocks and all of a sudden, there’s a cat!

    Like

Leave a Reply

