Hexies in New Jersey and Star Quilts in New York City

A few weekends ago, I went to the NJ Quilt Fest.  There were some amazing quilts there.  As I’ve been working a lot lately on diamonds and hexagons, those type of quilts caught my eye right away.

I really liked this one done in black, white and shades of gray.

Hexies Gone Wild

Hexies Gone Wild by Jean DeFrances,
quilted by Barbara Hahl

 

I was lucky to get close up shots of some of these quilts, here’s the center of Hexies Gone Wild:

Hexies Gone Wild - close-up

Hexies Gone Wild – close-up

 

Orange is not my favorite color, but his one was so bright and cheerful I couldn’t help but be drawn to it.  Makes me think about doing something with those orange fabrics I have.

Orange you going to ask me

Orange you going to ask me “Y”? by Marge Lehrer

Another nice one was this colorful beauty:

Starlette by Cheryl See

Starlette by Cheryl See

This is 52″ by 58″ and is made up of 4,582 English paper pieced hexagons! It’s just beautiful – here’s a close-up of the center:

Starlette

Close up of Starlette by Cheryl See

I hope some day to make a major quilt like this one.

For now, though, two of my quilts will be on display at our guild show at Fashion Institute of Technology in New York this weekend, March 28 – 29, 2015.  If you will be in NYC today or tomorrow, please stop by and check out the great quilts made by our guild members and the wonderful vendors with all their goodies!Here’s a link to the Empire Quilters Facebook page with details.

Have a great weekend!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hexies in New Jersey and Star Quilts in New York City

  1. Kathy says:

    How awesome that your quilts are going to be on display! I hope you’ll be able to share pictures for those of us who won’t be in NYC.

    Like

    • Maureen says:

      Thanks Kathy! Yes, it was a great feeling to see my quilt displayed! First time I’ve ever entered anything in a show. I’ll write a post with pictures this week.

      Like

  2. Karen H says:

    Thanks for the great pictures. I too find the orange quilt very attractive and that star quilt is really something else!

    Like

Leave a Reply

