It’s Finally March

Although I was not sad to see February leave, it passed so quickly I still can’t believe it.  Here in New York, it has just been snow and ice and more snow and ice.  Getting around takes much longer and is more frustrating in this weather.  It snowed this afternoon but as I write this has become freezing rain.  This will wash away some of the snow, but will mean a messy commute tomorrow morning.  Like most everyone else around here, I can’t wait for Spring!

To help forget about winter, I have recently gone to a few indoor flower shows.  The New York Botanical Garden’s Orchid Show opened last week and was a wonderful way to spend a winter day.

orchids

NY Botanical Garden-orchids

My husband and I then continued the quest for flowers and took a quick road trip to Philadelphia.  It has been so cold here that parts of the rivers around NYC are frozen.

Frozen river

Frozen river

Our first stop was Longwood Gardens, to see their Orchid Show.

Longwood Gardens

Longwood Gardens

Of course, it’s my luck that the day we were there, the garden had to close early due to a winter storm.   They were nice enough to give us tickets to come back another day and we did get to spend an hour in the conservatory, so it was all good.

Our next stop was the always fabulous Philadelphia Flower Show.  One of my favorite displays was this garden with stone and wrought iron geese walking across the grass.

Philadelphia Flower Show 2015

Philadelphia Flower Show 2015

Unfortunately all this running around to flower shows has cut into my already imited sewing time.  And, I’m working on yet another quilting project (technically it’s a UFO – I cut out the first few pieces last year…), Route 66 from a Quiltmania book by Di Ford, Primarily Quilts.  In the book, the author mentions that she worked on her Route 66 quilt while driving around the US to see a Jimmy Buffet concert with her husband.  My husband and I are also Jimmy Buffet fans, so I was inspired to start mine with bright, ocean themed fabrics from a Laurel Burch collection that came out a few years ago.

Route 66 hexies

Route 66 hexagons

I decided to make the patterns pieces at 125% so it will be easy to hand piece.  Also, this way I can have a larger finished quilt than that in the book.  There will be rows of hexes and small diamond between these rosettes, but I haven’t decided on the fabrics yet.

I’ve also continued to work on my Kona solid EPP stars.  I’ve made slow but steady progress stitching these on the train to and from work.  I also took them with me to sew while on the drive to Philadelphia.

EPP Stars

EPP Stars

This brings my total to 18, and once the orange star has all its white diamonds, I’ll have 19.   I like this project; it’s easy prep, very portable and simple stitching.  I can see more EPP projects in my future!

I’m linking up to the Monday morning star count over at Life Under Quilts and also to the Small Blog Meet at Lily’s Quilts, so many new bloggers like me out there.  It’s great to see all the beautiful work everyone’s doing!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to It’s Finally March

  1. Your EPP projects are so pretty! I really love the simplicity of the star pieces!

    Like

    • Maureen says:

      Thanks Ashley! It’s funny I do like intricate patterns but the simplicity of this project is very appealing. Made me rethink my opinion of solid fabrics. And they are so easy to take with me and sew on the go!

      Like

  2. I love your epp solid blocks! The tones work so well together.

    Like

  3. knitnkwilt says:

    Great way to beat the winter grays (and ice and snow) and the hexie flowers fit right in.

    Like

  4. Lily Lau says:

    Welcome, March! It was already necessary after so much snow, cold days and even colder nights!

    Like

  5. Karen H says:

    Your stars made in solids are fabulous! I thought for a moment that they were made of coloured paper. Road 66 is a great quilt and I have made a slow start on mine. I think your Jimmy Buffet inspired version is exciting. I wonder what you have planned for the diamonds!

    Like

    • Maureen says:

      Thanks so much Karen! The Kona solids are so easy to work with. I haven’t given much thought yet to the diamonds on Road 66. Once I finish some more rosettes I’ll see what I have in my fabric stash. I’m really trying to use what I have instead of buying more fabric!

      Like

  6. Kathy says:

    A fellow lover of EPP … I have a list a mile long of EPP projects I want to make, and now I have to add 6-pointed stars to that list. 😉 Hope your weather is finally starting to look a little more spring-like.

    Like

    • Maureen says:

      I know what you mean Kathy – there are so many EPP quilts I want to make! I’m looking forward to taking my EPP to the beach but not anytime soon – it’s 24 degrees here this morning!

      Like

      • Kathy says:

        Oh my, we ARE kindred spirits! I love to stitch on my EPP project on the beach … we’ll be going in May for 2 weeks, and my EPP project is the first thing on my list of what to pack. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

