Snow and Stars

Here in New York, we are in the coldest, snowiest part of the winter so far.  It’s not my favorite time of year.  I love the four seasons we get here, and the snow is pretty around the holidays, but right about now I’m ready for Spring.  This is pretty much the view all around and more snow is on the way.

snowblower

Glad we have a snowblower!

There is one good thing about shorter, colder days in winter and that is more sewing time! I don’t have the courage yet to publicly list all my UFO’s, but reading so many blog posts lately about finishing UFO’s has made me vow to tackle some of them.  (Especially since I’m ready to start another project – or two!)

So, with that in mind, I finally finished my little blue Lone Star mini quilt.

Lone Star

Lone Star

I started this last year in a pattern drafting class and got sidetracked, so it sat in the UFO pile until recently.  I struggled with the center where the star points meet and also had to rip out some of the quilting, but instead of putting it back in the pile in frustration, I kept at it and I’m glad I did.  I learned a lot working on this and I think I’ll make another one someday.  If I keep practicing, hopefully I’ll get a better looking center next time.

There has also been progress made on my EPP stars/hexies.  I haven’t had a chance to count how many I’ve done, but I finished another one on the train yesterday.

green star

green star

I’m really glad I started bringing my EPP on the train.  I used to read sometimes on the train and do miss it once in a while, but I’m really glad to be making progress on my sewing projects.  I’ll get back to reading on the train one of these days, but for now I have a blue star packed for tomorrow’s commute.

I’m linking up with Life Under Quilts for the Tuesday Star Count and Esther’s WIP on Wednesdays.  Esther’s post reminds me that I really have to get back to my appliqué projects…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snow and Stars

  1. Jessica says:

    I love the lone star!! Any chance you can get to RVC onSaturday and bring it to show us?
    Miss you, glad to see you’re sewing in public~

    Like

    • Maureen says:

      I’m so glad you like it! Yes, I’ll bring it to RVC Saturday. Good thing I had my EPP with me yesterday as our train was delayed over an hour. More stitching time for me!

      Like

  2. Pamela says:

    Great idea to stitch on the train!

    Like

Leave a Reply

