It’s Christmas Eve

It’s hard to believe it’s Christmas Eve already.  I don’t know where December went.  I’ve been very busy working late and some Saturdays – by day I’m a number cruncher at a law firm and our fiscal year ends December 31st, so it gets pretty intense this time of year!

My hectic work schedule, combined with some get togethers with family and friends (always great) has meant very little time for sewing.  However, as one of my goals lately has been to find at least some time every day or two to sew, I’ve started bringing my EPP with me and stitching on the train.  As I usually travel on crowded, rush hour trains, it’s not always  feasible to sew, but one of the perks of working late is that there’s not so many people on the train and I can do some stitching.  And it’s led to a few nice conversations with folks who sit next to me!

Here’s my purple star in progress on the train

EPP

EPP purple block in progress

And here’s the finished block with the diamonds added to form the hexagon

EPP

EPP star quilt – purple done

I decided to take a few minutes to lay out all the stars and hexagons I’ve completed so far.  I really do need to get more of the white diamonds added so it doesn’t become a major project at the end.  But I am really pleased with my progress on this so far.  It’s true – especially with EPP, you can accomplish quite a bit with just a little time here and there.

EPP

EPP my quilt layout to date

I’m off from work today, so I’m finally getting around to displaying the Christmas ornaments I’ve made over the years.  There are so many memories associated with these projects.

The first thing I notice is that these are crewel or cross stitch, done when I had a lot more time on my hands and before I fell in love with quilting.  Santa’s frame broke last year and I haven’t had a chance to do anything with it.  I think I’ll get some Christmas fabric from my stash and make a wall hanging or pillow with it.  Looking at these pieces, I realize I miss doing this type of needlework. Someday I want to make more cross stitched pieces, the detail possible in cross stitch and the fabulous colors that floss comes in always inspire me.

My handmade ornaments

Geese and Santa – my handmade ornaments

I absolutely love, love, love these Disney cross stitched ornaments.  I made these many years ago when I used to do a lot of camping.  They were great take along projects and fortunately, I’ve taken good care of them over the years.  Some of the frames are starting to break; they were inexpensive and I didn’t give them much thought back then.  Nowadays, I have a lot more respect for the time and effort I put into making things and whenever finances allow, I use the best materials I can afford.  After Christmas, I have to figure out how I want to display them next year and either get new frames or incorporate them into a quilt project.  But that’s not happening now!

Disney cross stitch ornaments

My Disney cross stitch ornaments

This Laurel Burch Christmas wall hanging was my first attempt at free motion quilting.  It’s just basic outline quilting, but done with metallic thread on my home machine.  It was challenging, to say the least!   I recall now that I finished the outline quilting a day or two before Christmas Eve, but knew I wouldn’t have time to do any other quilting, so I just put a binding on it and hung it up thinking I’d get back to it and add more quilting during the year.  Surprise, surprise, that never happened!  But I still like this piece and it hangs over the sofa this time each year.

My Laurel Burch Christmas wall hanging

My Laurel Burch Christmas wall hanging

In keeping up with my star count, I’m linking up with Life Under Quilts and hope to be back to the Saturday Stitches get together next week!  I’m also linking up with Bonnie Hunter’s Quiltville to join in the posting of Christmas quilt fun.

Time to get cleaning the house – I’m hosting dinner tomorrow and have a million things to do.  Hope all of you enjoy the holidays, whatever you celebrate, and best wishes for a happy, healthy and creative New Year!

All the best,

Maureen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s Christmas Eve

  1. Cassandra says:

    I love what you are doing with the EPP stars! It is amazing how much you can accomplish with just a little time everyday. I try to keep a hand sewing project ready to go for that very reason!

    Like

  2. Maureen says:

    Thank you Cassandra!

    Like

  3. Allison says:

    Maureen – I am in love with the colors in your stars! What beautiful work! I also have a crazy, hectic work schedule so treasure those moments of quiet time to stitch! I have a long commute, but have to drive so no stitching for me!

    Like

  4. Sandy White says:

    It’s amazing what can be done with 60 degree diamonds. I love your stars. They are so sparkly. Your finished quilt will be beautiful.

    Like

    • Maureen says:

      Thanks Sandy, I’m having a lot of fun with the diamonds. It is fascinating, from diamonds to stars and then when I add the white diamonds to the stars, it becomes a hexagon!

      Like

Leave a Reply

