Sewing Stars

It’s been a busy week at work, however my efforts to find a little time almost every day for something creative have been successful.  I’ve been reading in various blogs this past week about making a point of carving out even a few minutes each day to work on a project.

Sometimes there’s no actual sewing going on, but I’ve found that little things like choosing and pressing fabric, gathering necessary supplies and cutting out the pieces are a good use of small chunks of time.  Not surprisingly, I’m more motivated to sew when time is short, like after work, if everything is ready for me to go.

It helps that my current favorite project is English Paper Piecing 60-degree diamonds into stars, then adding white diamonds around them to form hexagons.

60-degree diamonds

60-degree diamonds

This is instant gratification at its best.  It only takes a few minutes to glue baste the diamonds, and not much more than that to sew a few of them together.  Once I get stared, I usually wind up sewing at least three or four diamonds.  Sometimes I think it takes me longer to decide which fabrics I’m going to use than it does to make the star!

This weekend I was able to spend quite a bit of time sewing, which was nice.  I have a feeling this may be one of the last quiet weekends of the year, so I made a point of relaxing with my EPP and some NCIS Los Angeles reruns this afternoon. It’s hard to believe Thanksgiving is next week.  Things are going to get hectic soon!

I’m linking up to Life in Pieces Finding Time to Stitch and Kathy’s Quilts Slow Sunday Stitching.  Thanks to both for inspiring me to not only set aside time to sew for short periods of time but also to allow myself to enjoy sewing all afternoon on Sunday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sewing Stars

  1. I am enjoying EPP lately as well : )

    These little stars are darling !

    Like

  2. So happy you had a few moments to enjoy this delightful sewing!
    Hope to see more as you have time!

    Like

  3. Kate says:

    I’m always amazed how just a few minutes each day can add up each week. Your diamond stars are beautiful. Hope this week is just as productive.

    Like

Leave a Reply

