Quilting fun this past weekend

I recently noticed a post on a blog I follow, Life Under Quilts about a new quilting group meeting at a library a few towns away from me.  The first meeting was this past Saturday and it was so nice to sit down with other quilters and talk quilts!  On Friday night, I gathered together fabric and supplies to work on an EPP (English paper piecing) project while at the meeting.  There are many EPP projects in my head, but the  first thing I found was a few basted diamonds and the package of remaining paper templates.  So, I prepped a few pieces, packed up my supplies and was all set for Saturday.  Although I do a lot of hand sewing, I’ve been busy with appliqué lately and I had forgotten how much I like EPP.

I pieced together most of my first star on Friday, so when I arrived at the library on Saturday, I worked on stitching the white diamonds to the star.  Even with a discussion going on, EPP is really fast for hand sewing.  I was almost finished when I left Saturday afternoon and was inspired to find time Saturday evening and then again on Sunday to not only complete the green hexagon but to make a purple star as well.   I managed to add a couple of white diamonds to the purple star on the train tonight but don’t have an updated photo.  I’ll post another one when all the diamonds are attached.

Green diamond

Green diamond

Purple stars

Purple stars

I also went to a local quilt show this past weekend, which was very nice.  While the big name shows are fabulous, I’ve always enjoyed going to local guild shows.  There are so many talented quilters out there!  I took some pictures and once I get them organized, will post a few more, but here are two photos of my favorite quilt in the show, Star Sapphire, by Galyna Sokolova-Miller.

Star Sapphire

Star Sapphire

IMG_3721

Isn’t that just gorgeous?

I’m linking up with Life Under Quilts for the Monday star count.  I’ve done two so far, not sure how many I’m going to do.  I’ll decide soon how big this quilt will be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Quilting fun this past weekend

  1. Christine M. says:

    I love your stars! Are you going to make them all different solid colors? The colors of the rainbow! I also went to the Quilt Show this past weekend and the quilt picture you posted above was stunning. The rich purple board looked like velvet.

    Like

    • Maureen says:

      Thank you Christine! Yes, I’m going to make all my stars in Kona solids. And I agree that Lone Star was amazing, as were all the others. There are a lot of talented quilters on the island!

      Like

  2. Hexy Lady says:

    Nice stars. I am glad you are enjoying the class. I wish I was close enough to attend too.

    Like

  3. Jessica says:

    You’ve got a nice start there..hope you’ll come sit and sew again on the 22nd~ Thanks for linking up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

