Flowers, music and a couple of blocks finished

It’s been a busy week, but enjoyable, which is always good.  I haven’t really had as much time to sew as I would have liked, but as they say, sometimes you have to stop and smell the roses, and that’s exactly what I did.

My husband and I went with a friend and his granddaughter to the New York Botanical Garden this past weekend.  The Kiku chrysanthemum show had just opened, and the roses  were putting on their final display of the season, so we spent a lovely fall day surrounded by gorgeous flowers.

Kiku

Entrance display of mums at Kiku, NYBG

Kiku

White and purple mums, Kiku, NYBG

Kiku

Bridge of red / yellow mums at Kiku, NYBG

 

Roses

Rose garden, NYBG

roses

Rose garden, NYBG

 

roses

Rose garden, NYBG

The music part of the week was going to see Fleetwood Mac at Madison Square Garden last night.  I had such a good time.  Their music has always been a part of my life;  I still have their albums in my basement!  It was a great show – so glad my husband was able to get us tickets.

I did find a little time over the past few days to sew, however, and not only finished the Dear Jane A-4 block I posted about last time, but also did D-4.  I’m enjoying English paper piecing these blocks.  It does take a little more time, but the pieces fit together perfectly and that means less ripping out stitches!  A-4 is EPP except for appliquéing the center cross.  It was easier than piecing those tiny pieces!  D-4 is EPP except for appliquéing the four melons in the corners.  The heart in the center square is fussy cut.  It fit perfectly; I’m so glad I didn’t have to take the time to appliqué it.

Dear Jane, A-4

Dear Jane, A-4

Dear Jane, D-4

Dear Jane, D-4

I’m going to take a look and see which other Dear Jane blocks I can do with EPP.  Hope to have some more progress to post about soon!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flowers, music and a couple of blocks finished

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    I am in awe of everything Dear Jane. For me, though, it is a spectator sport.

    Like

  2. Maureen says:

    I know what you mean, I did resist Dear Jane for a while but I saw so many varieties and possibilities, I had to do it! I’m not quite sure if I’ll finish the entire quilt though. I’d like to, but it is time consuming.

    Like

Leave a Reply

