English Paper Piecing Dear Jane Blocks

I have recently noticed an increase in discussions in blogs and quilting gatherings of the original Jane Stickle quilt as this is the time of year that it is on display at the Bennington Museum in Vermont.  I was fortunate to see the quilt a few years ago.  To say it is beautiful is an understatement.  Not only is it an amazing quilt, I am just in awe of the fact that it was made without all the supplies we take for granted today.  I can’t imagine trying to do hand work without my Ott light!

With all that inspiration, I decided to get back to my own Jane over the weekend.  I decided to try the English Paper Piecing (EPP) method with block A-13 and I’m glad I did.  At first, it seems like a lot more work, but I think it was easier for me to get those small pieces accurately put together that way.  Kind of like a jigsaw puzzle.  I don’t mind hand piecing, but sometimes too many small pieces just get distorted and then it won’t lay flat.  I’ve made this block before and found that EPP worked better for me.

Dear Jane A-13

Dear Jane A-13

With that block successfully finished, I got started on another block suitable for EPP.  Except for the crossed pieces in the middle, which I appliquéd onto a square, I’m using EPP for A-4.  This was as far as I got, but I like the way it’s coming out.  I doubt I would have been able to hand piece this one without a lot of frustration.

Dear Jane

Almost Finished Dear Jane A-4

We’ll see however, how I feel about it after doing those small corner pieces!  I’m going to try and finish this one by the weekend.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

